Commas? What is that?

Hiya! I’m Pacman. I see you have found your way into my game. Seems like you want to learn more about this thing called a comma. Don’t worry, I know A WHOLE LOT about this important form of punctuation. So, are you ready? Let’s go!

First off, commas are a form of punctuation that indicate a pause in a sentence. This pause, though, differs from a period. Periods are at the end of a sentence while commas are at the beginning.

On another note, they can add different symbolism and emphasize different things within a sentence and a work of literature. They can add more specific information, but could even be taken out without changing the initial meaning of a statement. They also have the ability to change the entire meaning of something. For example, if I were to say, “Let’s eat Ghosts!”, it insinuates that I want to actually eat my ghost friends….. but if I were to say, “Let’s eat, Ghosts!”, this would mean I am inviting my ghosts friends to eat.

When should I use it?

There are many ways to use a comma. For example, you can use it in a list, a transition, when you have coordinate adjectives, and parenthetical expressions. If you are unsure of what those are, fear not, I will help you understand!

0 Replies to “Commas? What is that?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *